Violent Night

Once again, it’s been awhile since my last post. This time however, it hasn’t been because I’ve been forgetful. Frankly, I just haven’t had a lot of photographic opportunities. Here at the News-Press I’ve been mostly used as a reporter on the crime and city beat. I’m not complaining, that’s just the truth of it.

However, I recently accepted a position as a staff photographer with the State Journal in Frankfort, Kentucky. So, there should be quite a few more blog posts coming from me in the future.

Here that all six readers? More is on the way! You can rest easy.

Over the weekend I attended my very first MMA match. I have to say, I’m glad that I did. Not only was I able to shake off a bit of rust before heading to Frankfort, it was also a real challenge to work with the cage and the changing light of an outside event.

I found that the cage, despite presenting a challenge, was also a great device for framing and adding an extra layer to the photographs. It became a character in its own right and I feel really helped me make some better photos. But, that’s up to you to decide.

Hope you enjoy them.

Leave a Reply

